Discussion On Clay

jolieo

Hi

I have read a lot about glazes. Even a good deal about firing. I feel clay, very much the body of work, isn't talked about as much. And I just had an experience. So I bought a low fire clay years ago, and 2 mid fires last year, one a mid porcelain, and little loafers. I also bought a wheel last year. I messed about some, but I was recuperating from an illness, and the skin of my hands and my nails had a bad reaction to the clay. So I started up again a month ago. I am self taught, so I am blundering about for a bit. I manage to put maybe four vessels together. I have a coworker who minor edit in ceramics, he says he would be happy to mess about with me. So I am low on the little loafers, off to Jacksonville I go. But they are out, so I ask for a good throwing clay.the give me something from Laguna, and tell me they disconti the little loafers due to bloating.

I take this new clay home, and I can throw, the pots I make look like pots. The walls can with stand me messing with them for longer than a minute. Totally , totally different animal.

So do I run and invest all my money in this clay? Or is there a way to know? Should I be asking for sample? Are recipes consistent or only batch to batch?

I can't do a plug mill, or a thousand pounds ( Good Grief a thousand pounds melting back into the earth here in rainy humid Florida ). The difference was so astounding that I am scared to really go throw a lot in case I made it up and it turns into the clay that hates me again.

How do you figure clay out so that it works well if I can't buy huge amounts or make it myself?

Is it like glaze, where you add stuff to it ? But how to add in a consistent manor?

Insights delighted in. Jolie

Before running out and buying a large amount of clay, I'd wait until after you bisque and glaze . . . see how your glazes work with the clay body. It might throw nice, but the end game is, how does it work after the final firing.