A Real Dress Code Story-Or How I Became A Potter

I would not be a potter today without a stupid dress code in High School.This is a true story as best as I can tell it.

Let me tell you my story about unreasonable school bureaucracy and administration insanity.

Back when I was in High school I was a b+ student-not great not bad. Never had discipline issues.

My family where mostly teachers. My mother was a high school/collage teacher for over 30 years as well as a few years with the board of education.

I started to change with the times in 9th grade. That is started to grow my hair long (it was the 60’s) I told the track coach that I was done running circles and he was on his own after having 3 Cortright boys to coach and get his team records that I was done track. (My brother’s and myself all where track stars) over a 12 year period with my oldest brother going on to the Olympics.

In the summer of 9-th to 10th grade my mother suggested me not going to a regular high school as she saw trouble with the dress code? I did not get this point but found a school far away from so-Cal in the San Francisco area called Pacific High school. I went there for my 1st year of high school.This school became known from the dome books  written about its mass of domes built during my period there. It was a small private school and I learned about life in so many ways pubic schools could not teach. My fellow students (guys like pig pen from the Grateful dead) and I for example went on field trips to the Avalon ballroom to see Janis Joplin or the Jefferson Airplane.It was San Francisco in the heyday of change. I do not recall much book learning. I do recall much learning about life. Long story short met a girl lived in New Hampshire with her the last of that year and then flew out west to finish my high school and get out of the city (so-call).