Hi I'm fairly new to ceramics, so forgive if I seem a bit clueless.

I am using commercial underglaze on porcelain but am finding the consistency a bit too watery and would like to experiment with a thicker mixture.

Could I simply make a slip from dry powdered porcelain + water and mix this with the underglaze to thicken? I realise it would lighten the colour as the porcelain is white, I don't mind this.

I'm just looking for a simple way of thickening the mix and adding some variation as I don't want to get too technical at this early stage by creating my own recipe with ball clay, fluxes etc.

I also have some oxides that I'd like to add to my simple clay body + water slip. Would this work or is it necessary to have all the other ingredients?

Thank you for any advice

Emma

Adding oxides or stains to dry clay body and adding water makes a good slip. I also sieve my slips to make sure the oxides/stains are thoroughly mixed. For stains, I usually use a ratio of 10% stain to powdered clay body. For oxides, it will depend on the oxide -- especially the cobalts which are very strong and you only need a small amount.

You'll find a lot of good information at Vince Pitelka's website: http://iweb.tntech.edu/wpitelka/syllabi-handouts/handouts-info.htm

Thanks for your responses and the link.

I'm using Bath Potters high fire stains.

Another thing I was wondering, if I used Underglaze Flux ( http://www.scarva.com/en/Scarva-Underglaze-Flux/m-2073.aspx  ; add between 25-33% to make a powder stain into an underglaze) and added water, could I possibly make an underglaze which self-glazes when high fired? 

At the moment the underglazes I'm using (scarva nano) come out with a subtle gloss-sheen after high firings which I've been told is due to the flux in the underglaze.

Many thanks

Thanks for your responses and the link.

I'm using Bath Potters high fire stains.