Now that it's 2015, it's time to upgrade my way of doing business. I remember reading in one of the CAMs, one of the artists featured had found an accounting program which was more arts/crafts/art fair friendly than QuickBooks. Does anyone happen to know which one that was? I am truly tired of how intuitive QuickBooks is *not*!

Dammit, Jim! I'm an artist, not an accountant!  ;)

Thanks for the input.

• 2 weeks later...

Quicken or quickbooks-you need to tweek it to your needs-Being an artist also means being a bookkeeper-sales rep-chief cook and garbage person.

Some of these tasks are not fun but vital. I have not heard about artist friendly software other than a coton tee shirt.

Mark

one last note whatever you learn software wise you will be using ot for long time so pick wisely.

I have been using Quicken -a highly modifed to my needs catagory wise since the early 90's-My account wanted me to switch to quickbooks about 10 years ago and I convinced her since I knew quicken and had it dialed so well to my needs she let it go. I even bought a mac version and never used it .

Mark

Guest JBaymore

Once you set up Quicken... it is very simple to use and has all the power that most sole proprietorships (or single person LLCs) might need. The key is setting it up well.

best,

..............john

As John says the setup is Key -I went over this with my account on day one but for me I was already doing a huge 17 column book with a pencil ( many may recall what this was some may have never heard of the old book system)

so setting up what I needed was pretty easy as I had already done that with the columns in the book.

Mark

I think the best advice here is, whatever software you choose, have an accountant set up the initial file, and train you how to use it. When I first became self-employed, Quickbooks looked like it was written in a foreign language. After a few hours spent with my accountant, it was really easy.

• 3 weeks later...