Clay Body Not Sticky Enough -- What To Do?

hanee

In a recent quest to find a more local clay I picked up some of Sheffield's MGB body (coarse grog), as well as some ungrogged sheffield clay. There's a lot I like about this clay but am a bit shocked at how poorly it sticks to itself. I'm finding myself having to do things I've never done before, like wetting surface when building, in order to ensure that the clay is really joined and not merely laminated.

I was under the impression that earthenwares as a rule generally are going to have excellent plasticity and that the property of 'plasticity' generally refers also to adhesion. I would say the 'plasticity' is good in terms of pushing clay around, but the stickiness or adhesion is lacking almost completely, as far as adding on new pelletes of clay. Other clay bodies I've used in the past have never had such poor adhesion (including raku clays and other terracotta bodies). It's severely limiting.

So... what exactly causes a straightforward earthenware clay like sheffield's to be 'shorter' (if I'm using the term correctly) than other similar bodies I've used. Is it perhaps a lack of aging (this clay seems to be very freshly mixed, no mold spots or odor whatsoever) or is it inherent to their particular source material? Is there anything I can easily do to improve the stickiness? Oddly, the clay with more grog (MGB) adheres to itself *better* than the grogless version of the same body, which I thought was rather counter-intuitive. I've heard that stickier clay is going to have a higher shrink rate, but the raku and high grog terracottas I've used in the past were both sufficiently self-adhering and had low-shrink rate.