Inside Mug Color Change

Jamie page

Newly here

Have started drinking coffee from glossy black mug for a few days and the inside of mug has turned dark blue. Is this normal or is it a mistake from my glaze? The recipe came from ceramicartsdaily.org. I am new to the pottery world and would never want to harm anyone drinking from my mugs. Thanks for any replies

Welcome to the forum!

Also, congratulations on discovering the leach test under your own power :). Not the most auspicious way to discover it, but better sooner than later.

A glaze that changes colour like that when exposed to a mild acid like coffee, tea or vinegar is soluble, and shouldn't be used on the inside of a functional vessel. This does happen with shiny glazes, not just matte surfaces.

The likelihood of you acutely poisoning anyone healthy from drinking out of such a mug is pretty low, but materials that dissolve out of a glaze might be detrimental to someone with a compromised immune system, or who is on certain medications. Probably not good for anyone in the long term.

Great Chantay, I meant only that some details are obvious to some and not others, I was really glad when my eye was drawn to this aspect of my pots. In this forum, seems we are open to any hints so I passed it on! Hope no offense was taken :)

On the unglazed areas of some of my pots I recently tried the soda wash that Chris Campbell kindly described to us. it is worth a try , doesn't alter the colour but takes it from clay to a satinny feel which I kinda like.

Really importatn that you know what the properties of the chemicals you are dealing with , both for your safety as a potter handling and firing chemicals, and for the eventual users of your pots.

Some one on this forum would be able to advise on a suitable source of info for you.

Guest JBaymore

OK without doing ANY formal glaze calculation in Insight...... let's look at  that colorant supply.