Old Kiln Help

Hello all!

About 2 years ago i bought an older kiln off a friend (that knew nothing about it) and now i am trying to get it set up for my own use.  I have little experience with manual kilns and this has been a long process to finally get it working. It is an Econo J23 With an aftermarket 3rd tier in it.

My first problems with the kiln was that all of the elements needed replaced. So i did that.

Now my biggest problem is choosing the right clay and understanding when and how to work the manual kiln. All i have ever worked with was Automatic kilns. 

After a few trials, from what i understand it probably cools too fast. if i just shut it off, it will cool to around 300 in about 8 hours. (from a cone 5 temp)

The cone sitter is unfortunately broken so i bought a thermometer for temporary use until in fully understand what to do with my kiln. 

a few months ago i had someone send me a link to a new control panel that would just convert the kiln to automatic but i wasn't sure if that was safe to do or even worth it because it was $650.

Some questions that i have for anyone that can answer:

should i try to switch it to automatic or just leave it at manual?

If it stays manual, do i fix the kiln sitter or just continue to use the thermometer that i bought?

What is the best clay to use? i have always worked with high fire clay (cone 5-6) but i worry that the older kiln will struggle to reach that temperature.

Depending on the clay, do you have any suggestions on how i can regulate the temperature correctly. ( Turning it up at the right rate) and then how do i get it to cool efficiently?

Thank you so much,

Heather