My First Kiln And First Firing

RolandR

I just graduated from high school where my teacher would do everything with the kiln. I just got a kiln and am going to start firing my own things. It is a cress cone sitter. I have a bunch of low fire clays around but i plan on getting some potters choice glazes. will the cone 5-6 glaze would work with the low fire clays? what clays would be good for throwing and firing with the potters choice? can i bisque high fire clays at around 04? 

Im a bit new to firing my own pieces so sorry about all the questions.

Firstly, congrats on your acquisitions! :) You are gonna have a blast.

As a fellow low-firer, I'm gonna help you out. First off, ^5-^6 will not work on lowfire clay, because they gotta get hot enough to develop and if you try firing lowfire clay in those temps, you'll end up with a ceramic cowpie and ruined shelves! Bad bad bad. I would get some nice terracotta and check out Amaco's Opalescent glazes and Artist Choice. Those are really pretty glazes that love terracotta iron. Theyare fired at ^05, on ^04 bisque. Be sure to bisque and fire nice and slow. :)

Good luck!

Welcome to the boards.

As TheGuineaPotter said, your clay and glazes can't be fired at the same temperature.

Either get some clay that matures at Cone 5-6, or get some low fire glazes.

Bisquing at cone 04, is enough for most clays. Some go even lower, like 06 or even 08. The lower you go, the more porous the ceramic body will be. Low fire clays, tend to be fired a bit hotter, than their glaze firings, so the organic materials can be burned out, that could affect the glaze. For instance, in my classroom, I bisque our low fire clay to 04, but glaze fire at 05.

Good luck on your journey.

Maybe you could stop in and visit with your old art teacher. I'm sure your old art teacher would be tickled that you have your own kiln.