What gets you back in the studio faster? New ideas, Throwing, sculpting, glazing or firing.

For example, I love experimenting with firing. The means make more pots so I can fire . What gets you going?

Marcia

What gets you back in the studio faster? New ideas, Throwing, sculpting, glazing or firing.

For example, I love experimenting with firing. That means make more pots so I can fire . What gets you going?

Marcia

It's a tie between starting on a new project or getting close to the completion of one.   I finally got my last glaze worked out for a mural that I have been working on for 6 months .  I can't wait to get out to my shop to finish glazing and get it fired.    Denice

All of my work is driven by deadlines. I don't think I ever make anything that isn't "due" soon. Yesterday I finished trimming my last two wholesale orders of the year, due on 11/24. And now I need to finish one last big cycle of work for my December shows, about $6000 worth of pots, for a show on 12/7 and for my open studio the following weekend. This doesn't mean I never experiment on new designs, but when I do I have a show date in mind for when I'm going to finish the project (or scrap it). I came from a long career as a designer, so deadlines are normal to me. If anyone thinks my answer takes the romance out of the idea of professional pottery, I'd say "who said it was romantic?" Fulfilling on a deeper level? Yes, there are many moments of euphoria/pride/satisfaction that result from this work. But in order to have that, the day-to-day life is about a high-rate productivity, and deadlines.

Practice gets me out there. Practicing handles handles and more handles. I can't decide if my handles should be the same thickness as my cup rims or if they should be thicker. I like thicker, but then I feel like the mug feels uneven. Any insights?