Making Very Fine Lines!

maya

I am fairly new to pottery and often find my thoughts and imagination outrun my knowledge and skills......my thoughts are currently taking me to very fine lines.  For example, a head-full of strands of hair.

I tried making a very fine line with an applicator, using underglaze, but after firing the glaze "settled" a bit and while it didn't exactly run, the lines were no longer pencil thin as when I applied them.

So I did a little research online and saw two products that could possibly do the trick:  choxils like a chalk, with the density of a pencil. According to the product description, these "pencils" can be sharpened in traditional pencil sharpeners.  The other choice are potter's pens.

Has anyone used either of these products to make very fine lines and been pleased?  Or, are there techniques / products out there that I don't even know about yet??

BTW, I bisque to cone 06 and fire to cone 5 with a brownish speckly clay.

Along the lines (ugh) of what Chris was saying, you can do as Lorna Meaden does and scratch the lines into leather hard ware, then underglaze, let dry and scrape back to expose individual lines, then bisque and glaze as usual.  If you look at Google images of her work you should be able to see the general idea, but also that the underglaze tends to excape into the covering glaze.  She soda fires, which adds the tendency to pull the underglaze into the soda glaze matrix, and at cone 6 oxidation that may be less of a concern.

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1280&bih=867&q=lorna+meaden+pottery&oq=lorna+meaden&gs_l=img.1.3.0l4j0i24l2.2356.5162.0.10960.12.11.0.1.1.0.78.631.11.11.0....0...1ac.1.58.img..0.12.623.H9upBFNyYjw

John