Mixing Glaze And Underglaze

ClayPigeon

Hi all, I'm be where so I hope this hasn't been posted before. I did a check and couldn't find anything so maybe the answer is obvious?

Anyway, can I mix a glaze and an underglaze together to use on green ware for sgraffito? Im trying to make a pale pink and could only find a white glaze and a pink underglaze.

Thank you!!

Thank you Perkolator! I'm very new to pottery so please bear with me as I ask these probably very obvious questions. What do you mean by replicate? My concern is that if I use a regular white glaze on earthenware to carve a design, it will not come out looking how it should (white) and if I mix it with the pink underglaze, will it come out pink, or some other weird colour? I was under the impression you could only use glaze on bisque ware, but underglaze could goon bisque ware or green ware.

i think that the reason it might work is that you are using the underglaze for its color content only.  at least that is what your original question seemed to ask.  now i am not so sure. "replicate" means to make that same color again but it does not seem that you care about that aspect of the problem.

it does appear that you could benefit from some basic knowledge.  there are lots of books that explain the process of taking a piece of clay from mud to finished product.  once you know a little more, your questions will be easier to answer.

The problem you are going to have is trying to get a successful sgraffito result with glaze.

Glazes move and will tend to fill in your lines.

Under glazes stay where you put them which is why they do well ... Slips also stay put so ...

if your clay is white you could make a slip, add the pink underglaze for color and do the carving.

Hey,

Sooo, why wouldn't you want to make sgrafitto the regular way with redware cone 06 clay coated with white slip then