How To Complete A Mistake? Please Help

Hello to all,

This is my first post so bare with me. I have learned so much over the years from all of you insanely knowledgable people, I am hoping you can help me once again. I started playing in the studio a few weeks ago and long story short ended up with a 22" tall hare, my very first sculpture since grade school. In the midst of my excitement, I realized the clay I was "playing" with was Highwater,s little loafers; not exactly a sculpting clay. Having no idea what I was doing, I did hollow it out the best I could and dried him out over several weeks. I need to fire him now and have several questions.

If he lives through the bisque firing, is that enough? I would choose a non-fire finish?

Should I once fire him all the way to cone 6? Again, a non fire finish.

Any suggestions on firing schedules?

I would soooooooo appreciate any suggestions or ideas to help me complete this rookie mistake.

Thanks so much, Lonnapost-18649-0-57591600-1412605967_thumb.jpg

post-18649-0-57591600-1412605967_thumb.jpg

I would think that the texture would be enhanced by a light wash of iron oxide. I really think light wash as you don't want him too dark. At the same time, I would consider washing off the surface perpendicular to the linear texture to leave a little more of the wash in the valleys. It is a beautiful piece, and firing could be either way, but with the wash I would bisque then wash and fire again. You may want a little heavier wash on the ground to help separate him from the ground.