Need Advice On Barrel Firing Pots

Hey Everyone,

I just started a little studio in my garage and figured I would reach out to the community for some advice. I plan on barrel firing

my pieces to cut down on my costs but I've never done it before and have some questions. I bought a 31 gallon galvanized

steel trash can and am wondering If I have to burn the zinc off before using it for a firing? I read online that this is the case

but I was thinking that maybe the fumes from the zinc burning off would impart some color on the pots. Also I'm wondering

what types of clay people are using for barrel firings? The guy at the pottery store told me low fire white clay but the internet

seems to think I should be using groggy stoneware. Hopefully someone knows about this stuff but please feel free to post any

other advice you have on this type of firing, I'll be grateful for any help I can get. 

Thanks

Welcome to the boards.

Will you be bisque firing, these pieces first?  With any type of pit or barrel firing, bisquing is recommended.  You will have much less loss, from cracks and spalling.  Even if everything survives, it will be fairly weak, if you only barrel fire it.  The temps don't get hot enough to harden the clay.  Barrel firing is used to create surface effects on the wares, from the smoke and other additives added in.

I'm not sure if the zinc fuming off will do much, in terms of the wares.  You are right though, the zinc fumes are nasty, so you do need to be cautious when firing.

For pit, barrel and Raku firing a clay that can handle the thermal shock of quick heating and cooling, is a must.  So you can buy a specified Raku clay, but a grogged stoneware works just as well.  

The zinc fumes are toxic so beware. 

As benzine says, you should bisque your pieces first. Robert Peipenburg has a great video on barrel firing.