Assembling Clay Boxes

Zuni

I've been working in clay for a few years, but have just started making boxes. No matter what I do, when I put the sides together, and meld them together - using either my fingers or a tool, I get marks in the clay that I have trouble removing. Any ideas?

It's just a matter of practice and waiting till the slabs are just right. You might be working

a little too soon or using too much liquid in the joins. Use just a little vinegar in your water

and you will find you need less.

Try scoring, slipping putting them together then doing all the work on the inside surface

leaving the outside alone. Think about not touching it and work the inside. It will hold together

and you can come back later when it stiffens and fix any little blips.

It's just a matter of practice and waiting till the slabs are just right. You might be working

a little too soon or using too much liquid in the joins. Use just a little vinegar in your water

and you will find you need less.

Try scoring, slipping putting them together then doing all the work on the inside surface

leaving the outside alone. Think about not touching it and work the inside. It will hold together

and you can come back later when it stiffens and fix any little blips.

Thank you! Can't wait to get home to try it...

FWIW, my slab building results improved when I...

1. cut my fingernails really short... this stopped those little dents that seemed to appear everywhere.
  2. paid more attention to how I handled the clay after rolling the slab... anything which deforms the flat slab to a shape other than you eventually desire has the potential to embed stresses which will potentially work against you later.