8 replies to this topic

#1 DMCosta

DMCosta

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 37 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 08:22 PM

Bare with me, I'm relatively new at glaze making...

I recently made 250g of a yellow-brown glaze, a grey-brown glaze, and a transparent. All low fire cone 04, all with the same base ingredients. They all fired very gritty and rough feeling, and lack any shine or 'glass like' look. The kiln fired properly I got the recipes from a reputable glaze book. I wanted to tweak the recipe to get them more shiny but what can I do? Will adding more silica/flint help? If so how much more to a 250g sample?

Thanks for your help
~Dianna

#2 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, Montana State University-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,928 posts
  • Locationwhere Texas, Matamoros, Rio Grande and Gulf of Mexico come together.

Posted 16 July 2014 - 10:29 PM

you could try an small increase of silica line 1 or 2 % for starters
.or it could require a soaking at the maturing temperature during the firing.
'Marcia

#3 ayjay

ayjay

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 314 posts
  • LocationHampshire, UK.

Posted 17 July 2014 - 10:30 AM

They all fired very gritty and rough feeling,

Did you sieve the glazes?

#4 neilestrick

neilestrick

Neil Estrick

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,640 posts
  • LocationGrayslake, IL

Posted 17 July 2014 - 10:53 AM

For batches that small, sieving can be difficult. A stick blender works really well for smoothing out small batches.

Neil Estrick
Kiln Repair Tech
L&L Distributor
Owner, Neil Estrick Gallery, LLC
www.neilestrickgallery.com

neil@neilestrickgallery.com

#5 Bob Coyle

Bob Coyle

GEEZER

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 367 posts
  • LocationSanta Fe

Posted 17 July 2014 - 01:52 PM

The glaze might not have fluxed, or it may have a lot of un-dissolved material left in it which would also cause roughness.