The question should be What IS your throwing position. Couldn't edit it. Sorry. I am building some new stools for my studio after studying Pietro's at La Meridiana. I will paint them tomorrow and add a cushion. The cool thing about these stools is a storage bin under the seat, adjustable height in the legs, AND if you reverse the lid , the angle is good for your back.

So my question of the week is: what are you sitting on when throwing? Got any clever tips for back aches?

post-1954-0-84721500-1404180348_thumb.jpg

post-1954-0-24936300-1404343380_thumb.jpg

post-1954-0-84721500-1404180348_thumb.jpg

post-1954-0-24936300-1404343380_thumb.jpg

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

http://www.appleboxes.net/images/applebox-full-size-LG.jpg

It's no corbousier, just looks like one.

Best position for me.

I've tried the $ 200 stool. And still love the full size Apple box. simple solution. I'm 6' it's perfect. I have a cushion for it but it makes seat to high. I'm no production potter so it doesn't matter.

I've had friends have custom one made for their height.

An old kitchen chair that just happens to match the height of the wheel for me.  I've angled 45 degrees and sit on a corner.

I find throwing very hard on my rhomboids, due to my bad habit of rolling my shoulders forward.  I find doing back strengthening exercises helps a lot, and then stretching helps as well.  Thumbs up like Fonzi, elbows up in line with shoulders, thumbs down, and then draw them together like you're going to touch them behind your back.  Hold 5 seconds, repeated 10 times.  Every other day twice a day.

I use the Speedball St-4. I had purchased a number of these for the HS where I taught years ago, and love throwing on them. the tilt in the seat is similar to the tilt in Marcia's home-built, and the height is adjustable to allow me to position myself even with my work so that I don't have to hunch.

Guest JBaymore