Photo

Anyone Else Interested Or Know Anything About Firing Leopard Spot Shinos?

Leopard Spot Shinos Firing shinos

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Plover

Plover

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 May 2014 - 03:52 PM

I am a photographer and a passionate potter. Recently, I photographed some Leopard Spot Shino pots for someone and fell in love with Leopard Spot Shinos.   I'm intrigued by the organic nature, look of these pots and the process to get them.  I understand that the occurrence of these Leopard Spots can be rare and hard to get.  wanted to check to see if anyone here had anything thoughts on this too.  Is there anyone out there that is as intrigued by this process / these types of results as I am?

Attached Files

#2 Marc McMillan

Marc McMillan

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 79 posts
  • LocationDublin, ca

Posted 30 May 2014 - 10:19 AM

They are very cool and remind me of a pit or saggar fired effect.

#3 oldlady

oldlady

single firing an electric kiln to cone 6

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 810 posts
  • Locationharpers ferry west va and pinellas park fl

Posted 30 May 2014 - 03:19 PM

I hope you bought one!!

"putting you down does not raise me up."

#4 Biglou13

Biglou13

Advanced beginner pottery, Advanced in other art

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 878 posts
  • LocationNorth Florida

Posted 31 May 2014 - 04:20 AM

Yes!
Caution big brother is watching.
The beige is blinding!!!!!!
The middle of the road is boring

The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.
-Albert Einstein

#5 Plover

Plover

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 17 posts

Posted 31 May 2014 - 04:59 PM

Yeah~! it kind of looks like alternative firing techinques to me too.  I've been researching how I can learn more about acheiving this look and from what I have gathered it is not only the glaze but how you fire it. 

I understand it can be elusive