Kiln Ventilation

Forgive me for all the questions. I am rather new to the ceramic world. Recently, the high school I teach at had a new kiln installed. The maintenance crew has a difficult time listening to me if anyone has ever worked at a school they understand what I mean. Our kilns are located in a large closet space. I know that is not ideal but it is what we have. We do have the envirovent ventilation system however they used steel pipping and it began to corrode after about two months. I finally convinced them to put PVC pipe in. Now, every time I turn around the vibration of the vent is jarring the pipes loose at any joints. I have asked them to glue them into place over the summer break. My question is.... how much carbon monoxide is produce from an electric kiln during an average firing of greenware at 04 and glazeware at 05?  Yesterday, the pipes came apart again and a member of my team went a little over board and told my boss we needed to evacuate the building because of carbon monoxide poisoning, so now I am trying to put out fires around here with my colleagues and bosses. Thanks in advance.

Fruch,

You may want to try utilizing a Vent-A-Kiln system. Not only will it take out any type of fume that is giving off it will also take away the excess heat that radiates from the kiln itself during firing.

Good luck!

bbrandon

I fired a kiln in a HS within a large room and had wall fan for exhaust. That said, a 1998 study states

Custom designed exhaust hoods and industrial heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning systems were the most effective ventilation strategies. Passive diffusion and wall/window fans were least effective.

Site summary is here: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9794068