Developing A Cookware Clay Body

Hello!

I am new to the forums and I am very new to ceramics and the more technical side like developing glazes, clay bodies, ect.

That said, I am interested in cookware. I want to find a formula for a clay body that will be able to withstand repeated use at high temperatures, as well as being used over direct flame and heat.

If I am posting this in the wrong category please forgive me.

Any information at all is helpful because at the moment I have none.

Thanks!

Use the search window at the top right while viewing all forums and type in flameproof

there you will find this discussion on at least 4 threads.

This clay body will be expensive to make-just a heads up on that.

Mark

Flameware bodies often have spodumene/lithium in them, which reduces their shrinkage rates considerably. I used to use one that had close to zero shrinkage from wet to done. This causes most glazes to shiver off. So you'll have to find/develop some low shrinkage glazes to work on them.

From a liability standpoint, I personally don't have the guts to sell flameware pots. I think the risk of damage and injury is too great. Call me paranoid, but I think at some point a pot is going to give out on a stove top and make a big hot mess. That said, there are people who sell flameware. I'd like to see what their insurance company thinks about it, assuming the insurance company even knows the potential dangers.

If you want to develop your own flameproof clay body  don't read any further, but if you want to buy one you might consider mica clay.  I have bought the red mica clay from New Mexico clay company and made cookware that was used over an open flame and on an electric stove - also in the oven.  The ware is not glazed and does stain with use, but can be refired(I suppose - never did it) to burn out organics.  It was a fun clay to use but if you are selling cookware I'd listen to Neil. Joan.

Guest JBaymore