• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Annie12345

Annie12345

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 April 2014 - 12:36 PM

I've been firing in my electric kiln for a couple of years now.  The last batch of items fired came through the bisque firing without any problem.  When I did a 'slow glaze' firing with them two of the pieces cracked.  This is the first time I've had this happen.  Any ideas why they would crack in the glaze firing but not in the bisque?  Both pieces were on the top shelf and near each other and both pieces had the same type of glaze.   It's been about 40 years since I've had a ceramics class and am making pieces and running my little kiln from long ago memory.  I have no clue what happened.

thanks.

Annie

Sequim, WA

#2 Pres

Pres

Retired Art Teacher

• Moderators
  • 1,991 posts
  • LocationCentral, PA

Posted 16 April 2014 - 12:41 PM

Bad news is that cracks often can occur for different reasons, but the good news is that most cracks are identifiable as to the reason the crack happened. Please post a few images showing the pots that cracked. We may be able to narrow things down better if you would do that.

best,

Preston

Simply retired teacher, not dead, living the dream. on and on and. . . . on. . . .                                                                                 http://picworkspottery.blogspot.com/

#3 Annie12345

Annie12345

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 April 2014 - 02:21 PM

If I can figure out how to post a photo, I'll do it!        Hmmm.... so far no luck.  Any clues on how to post photos, they would be appreciated.

Annie

#4 Chris Campbell

Chris Campbell

clay stained since 1988

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,154 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 17 April 2014 - 02:25 PM

When you post your reply look at the bar below to the right where it says "More reply options"

Hit that and a new dialogue box comes up and at the bottom you will see instructions to attach files.