Glaze Compatibilities

reen

I have cone o6 and cone 6 glazes.Can I use these two glazes together on one piece and then fire to cone 6. If not why, what would be the results? Can I fire pieces together with o6 glaze on some and 6 glaze on some, then firing to cone 6. If not what might be the results.Can I use cone 6 glaze on low fire earhenware clay. I am very new at this, all comments and patience would be thankful.

The temperatures are very far apart. First fire the Cone 6 (2200F) glazes which is the hotter temperature. Then fire the 06 ( about 1825F) at the lower temperature. If you fire the lower temperature first , when you fire the higher temperature the low fire glaze can run or burn. Here is a link to a temperature chart.

http://www.bigceramicstore.com/info/ceramics/cone-chart.html

Marcia

Your glazes are formulated to melt at different temperatures. But, with testing, that doesn't mean you could not layer the cone 06 over the cone 6 and fire to cone 6. The 06 glaze will likely become very runny. Start with some test tiles and see just how runny the 06 glaze becomes when fired to cone 6. Do some tiles just 06, some with 06 over 6. Put the test tiles in a glaze tray to trap any overmelts that could run onto your kiln shelf.

When you add two glazes together, whether the same cone or different cones, you end up creating a third glaze. That glaze may or may not be suitable for functional ware. A stable glaze when added to another may result in a not-so stable glaze for food surface purposes. So, be mindful of that, too.

Fong Choo creates his glazes by mixing low and high fire glazes for the exteriors of his teapots. But, he tests the heck out of the combinations to find the right look and result before committing to a teapot.

What you're thinking about also depends on your clay! If you have low-fire clay (cone 05-06) and you try to fire it to cone 6, no matter what glazes you're using, your clay will melt into a blob on the shelf.