Displaying Your Works On The Web

Guest JBaymore

I'll hit a thought on the "name" question...........

If you look at your work as more of a "commodity"......... production, high volume pottery at lower price points for example...... then you might want to use a "business name" for your efforts.  Like Valley Potters, Lake Pottery, Fantasy Clayworks, or Make Money Ceramics.

If however you think of the work you produce as in more of an artistic vein.... then use your own real name for your communications.  For this type of work you are selling you as much as the work.

best,

..................john

Are you asking if you should choose one of the established social media sites like (Facebook or Flickr), or if your should build your own website with your own domain name? The answer is both.

EDIT: I guess on second thought, it depends one what you're trying to accomplish with the photos. What are you trying to accomplish?

I am just a in retirement hobbyist potter. All of my stuff is one-of-a-kind experiments. I do no production pottery. I thought I might show off and actually sell a few my strange things. I'm not willing to do much website search engine optimization. I do own LawrenceWeathers.com. For some other purposes, I get excellent hosting for six dollars a month.

My 2 cents is 

1st save that 6 bucks a month (360$) every 5 years and switch to weebly for free (they host a free web site also a pay one if you need more-stick to the free one like me)

I only have a web site so I do not have to talk color -I dumbed it down to a few color samples.

I am doing shows so that drives folks to my site via a business card.

I'm not so sure how folks would find your site on thier own.?

Mark

I'll hit a thought on the "name" question...........