What Does Centering Clay Mean To You? | September 6, 2013

When I center clay, I feel as if I am focusing to a point of stillness.  I have never had success trying to force my way into centering. By moving slowly and deliberately, I can physically and mentally feel that "click" as everything falls into place.  As a recent yoga devotee (one year), I recently had an epiphany while performing a balancing pose.  As I went into the asana, I felt that same "click".   I felt calm, in control, and yes, "centered".  How about you?  What does centering clay mean to you?  Is it a battle or is it a "Moment of Zen"?   :) 

Another way that I have experience this "click", albeit an odd way, is as a nurse.  In my other life as an NICU nurse, I would always feel that sensation when starting IVs or when doing other procedures requiring concentration, and body awareness.  It's really fascinating how the mind and body work together.   Our bodies have what are called proprioceptors.  Here's a wiki on them:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proprioception

I guess I am quite different about centering the clay. I am highly aggressive, working the clay up hard in Mastering 2-3 times, then working it hard centering it quickly. I often use my rt elbow on the wheel head, and my fist cocked at the top of the cone locking it into place firmly forcing the cone to center. For me the most gentle and time consuming of it all is the opening up and the compression of the floor rhythmically back and forth until I am satisfied.

I wrote this in another thread

(Caution metaphors ahead)

Spoon boy: Do not try and bend the spoon(clay). That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth.

Neo: What truth?

Spoon boy: There is no spoon (clay).

Neo: There is no spoon (clay)?

Spoon boy: Then you'll see, that it is not the spoon(clay) that bends(centers), it is only yourself.

Like all things art there are intangible things going on.