Weight/size Charts?

Does anyone know of any good weight/size/measurement charts for different types of pots? My ceramics teacher used to have a chart that listed the type of pot (mug/cereal bowl/pitcher, etc), how much clay to use (in lbs.), and how tall & wide each piece should be. I kick myself when I think how I should have copied that stuff down b/c I can't find anything anywhere similar. There are a few sites that have them put the weight is in oz. & ml. I would like something that lists how many lbs. b/c that's how my scale is. I am just starting out on my own, having already graduated and I would find this pretty handy to have. Thanks in advance...

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I believe this link will help you:

http://www.lakesidepottery.com/HTML%20Text/Tips/amount-of-clay-per-pottery-ware.htm

You should be able to select the text, copy and paste it to a text file, or maybe that PDF I attached will be downloadable.

I think, but not certain, that there is something similar in a Robin Hopper book, Functional Pottery. It might even be the same chart.

John

Weights of Clay Needed for Thrown Pottery Ware Size Measurements.pdf

Weights of Clay Needed for Thrown Pottery Ware Size Measurements.pdf

IMO, there are too many factors to say definitively how much clay should be used for each form. It all depends on what size you want the pot to be, how thin you throw, and the shrinkage rate of your clay. Many years ago I spent a great deal of time working out a chart like that, and today it's not very accurate. I now use a different clay body, and I throw thinner than I used to. Take the time to make your own chart. It'll be well worth the effort, at least for a few years. But it's easy enough to modify the chart as your throwing style changes.