What Is The Most Incorrect "rule" You Ever Heard For Pottery?

In the "Broken" thread we are going sideways a bit and pondering what is the most outrageous false pottery "Rule" you have heard, learned or even passed on unknowingly?

My first pottery teacher was just a treasure trove of false information and iron clad rules that were her opinion only and nowhere close to the truth. She proudly claimed to be totally self taught ... or not.

It has taken me years to discover most of them and I constantly trip over them. "You can't do this and you must always do that." Maybe if enough people contribute to this thread I will find a couple more!

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Chris,

When I first started with clay it was with cone 04 slip.  The rules were pretty clear and on the mark.  But when some years later I moved into using pugged clay cone 6 for hand building and wanted to use more than one color or type ie: porcelain and stoneware.  I was told hat I could only expect failure.  What a joke that turned out to be.  I always question and try things out for myself unless shown concrete proof.  So not only do I mix porcelain and stoneware. I also mix my brands, Bray, Laugna, Immco ect.

I also mix different colors, blacks,browns, reds and the list goes on.  Presently I have 7 different colors and 6 different brands in my studio.  The only thing I look for is the firing cone and shrinkage rate.  Now I am not building any large or heavy pieces but I haven't had any problems in the last 15 years.  My advice on taking advice is take it with a grain or shaker of salt.  And experiment we all learn alot from sucess and failures both.

RJ

I was told many years ago that the pre-made clay from a bag had to be wedged before using. This year I took a workshop in which the teacher told us that was bunk. Well I have now thrown from many bags of clay without wedging, with no problems at all.

NOTE:  I'll just repost mine, from the other topic: