Painting and decorating non-fired ceramics

Hi all. I'm fairly new to ceramics but have fell in love with it quickly. I found a place in the neighborhood where I can paint ceramics and then they take care of the firing. Recently my husband bought me acrylic paint so I can paint at home. So now my questions are:

1) I do not need to fire the piece when using acrylic paint right?

2) but then its also only ok for decorative pieces and is not food safe right?

3) do I need to do anything to the piece after painting then? I have been reading about brush on sealers and spray sealers but do not know if I need to do that or which is better.

4) if I want to write on the piece that is not being fired what is the best tool to use? A certain paint pen that is good for non- fired pieces? Or just like a squeeze bottle filled with the acrylic paint?

Any suggestions are extremely appreciated!

these questions would be better answered by the person in charge at the studio which supplies the items you are painting. putting acrylics on items originally intended to be finished in a kiln moves them out of the realm of ceramics and into the strictly decorative.

1) not only you don't need but you can not fire acrylic paint, it will burn out.

2) exactly, only for decorative purposes it wont hold water and it is not food safe for the same reason the paint will peel off at contact with water, even if you apply a finish varnish.

3) after painting with acrylics you need to apply a clear coat, spray sealers are good, Krylon brand is really good but any non yellowing will do, varnishes are also a good option for this.

4) Liner brushes are good for writing also calligraphy brushes are good for this purpose

Duncan Ceramic Arts is a manufacturer of a large range of ceramic glazes and they have a large range of acrylics and stains (called "nonfire") specifically for people who do not have a kiln. They are also non-toxic.

(I have no affilliation with Duncan).