Anyone else doing electroforming out there?

I have been doing electroforming on ceramics for several years now and I wonder if there are any other kindred souls out there doing the same.

I have done web searches and the only hits I come up with are people doing electroformed jewelry.

attached an example...

I have been doing electroforming on ceramics for several years now and I wonder if there are any other kindred souls out there doing the same.

I have done web searches and the only hits I come up with are people doing electroformed jewelry.

attached an example...

I like the look of those pieces, the one you posted and your thumbanil, but I'm still not quite sure what electroforming is, even after looking it up.

That looks like a really cool technique, I haven't heard of it either....but then I don't get out much. Please post us a link or more info so I can see just what its about. Thanks for sharing T

You can find a lot of info on electroforming with google...but nothing on electroforming on ceramics.

It is an electroplating process that takes place in solution. The piece is incised and glazed. The incised portion is left raw clay. After the firing, the unglazed portion is painted with electro-conductive paint. Then the piece is put in a copper sulfate plating bath for 2-5 days. This gives time for the copper plating to become very thick. The piece is then taken out of the plating bath and burnished and a chemical patina is used to get the look of antique bronze.

I have seen the technique in old issues of Ceramics Monthly but the people who were doing it have gone on to other things.

That looks like a really cool technique, I haven't heard of it either....but then I don't get out much. Please post us a link or more info so I can see just what its about. Thanks for sharing T

You can find a lot of info on electroforming with google...but nothing on electroforming on ceramics.