Underglaze vs. slip vs. mason stains?

Becca

Greetings, all! I am new to this forum, and have read a few threads relating to my question, gleaning lots of useful information, though nothing that has quite helped me solve my quandary. My ceramics experience (in college and using other professionals' studios) has been focused primary on gas fired ^10 stoneware. I am just starting out on my own, building up my own studio, and am learning to work with what I've got, which is an electric kiln. I have been experimenting with ^6 porcelain, and my initial idea was to paint on a black slip, then to carve in drawings and designs, exposing the white clay body, and then to glaze the entirety in clear. I have zero experience using a slips, but understand that you have to apply them to moist clay (nothing drier than leather hard). One potential issue is that I have a five month old baby, and have some trouble getting to my studio super regularly right now, making it difficult to keep pots moist until I am ready to decorate. I am interested in trying mason stains and/or black underglaze, thinking that they may lend some versatility. Could I create the graphic imagery that I desire by simply painting or drawing with black on leather hard, bone dry, OR bisque fired pots??? Could I also have the option of creating the carved, textured surface by using the underglaze or mason stain much the same way I was planning to use the slip? What are the limitations of underglaze and mason stains in terms of WHEN they are applied? Any tips would be much appreciated! Thanks!

The short answer is YES, the Jet Black Amaco underglaze can be used for your purposes at almost any stage.

If you want the carving to be deep, you can apply it at any wet stage then carve through it when you have time. At most stages before dry, the incised designs will be deeper, crisper and more controllable.