kiln shed

I have just finished my cinder block fence and have extra blocks. I have been thinking of building a kiln shed to house my electric kiln as well as a place to build a 12 sq. ft. gas kiln. I am a hobbyist so I run through a lot of clay. I don't know what size to build...help.

As big as you can. Seriously. There's no such thing as too much room in a kiln shed. You'll want at least 18" clearance from the walls for the electric, more for the gas to comfortably work around. It'll all depend on the footprint of the gas kiln, where the pipes come in, where the burners sit, etc. I don't recommend putting an electric kiln in an outside shed unless it is water tight. If you wouldn't leave your computer there, you shouldn't leave your electric kiln there.

Great point about the electric kiln. I was going to enclose the structure and have a garage door at one end. The gas fired kiln at the far end centered and the electric kiln along on side wall. I was thinking 12 x 16 with a window opposite the electric kiln. I have claimed one bay of our 3 car garage for the studio. The shed would be directly behind the garage studio. What else should I include?

I keep my 3 electric and one small gas kilns in a shed that is just a tin roof with tarps that roll up for the sides. It's great. On cold days I just open the front tarp all the way and another one a quarter of the way. On hot days I roll up all tarps and it's like firing outside.

Jim

I keep my 3 electric and one small gas kilns in a shed that is just a tin roof with tarps that roll up for the sides. It's great. On cold days I just open the front tarp all the way and another one a quarter of the way. On hot days I roll up all tarps and it's like firing outside.

Jim