Teaching Creativity?

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Chris;

I think you know the answer. It's in how the question/assignment is framed. I make mine sort of open ended so that there is room for interpretation. You can directly solve the problem, or you can take it on a tangent.

TJR.cool.gif

Actually, I don't know the answer.

I have seen people so lacking in imagination that no possibilities seem to exist and others who return time and time again to the same answer no matter how you try to frame the question. I have been thinking about this after noticing a seminar promising to teach creativity in just eight weeks. Since I have other things I should be doing ... Of course, I decided to think about this instead! Creative procrastination.

I'm not a teacher; I'm an engineer. So I'll only offer a personal opinion. From the time I was about 10, my piano teacher tried to encourage me to improvise. Not happening. Some 40+ years later, if it's not music on the page, I can't make it up.

Same with ceramics and other arts. People around me would tell you I'm very creative. I know better. I'm a very good, very techincal copiest. I produce good products using other people's creativity. In clay, I prefer functional items, so that's my thing.

So I don't think you can really TEACH creativity. If it's there, you could probably encourage it to flourish, but how do you put thoughts in someone's head. I'd LOVE to write a book (to make my million), but I don't really have anything to say.....

Alice

Actually, I don't know the answer.

I have seen people so lacking in imagination that no possibilities seem to exist and others who return time and time again to the same answer no matter how you try to frame the question. I have been thinking about this after noticing a seminar promising to teach creativity in just eight weeks. Since I have other things I should be doing ... Of course, I decided to think about this instead! Creative procrastination.

Chris;