Baby Handprints

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting. I have recently started a small baby ceramic handprint business, and I would like to offer the pop out prints ie 2d prints that I have seen. I was just wondering if anyone might have a suggestion on how to achieve this. I have been testing all sorts of molds, and the best luck that I have had is stamping the hand in art putty, and then wetting already moist clay and forming it into the impression and then attaching it to a plaque. I will say I have not yet fired this piece as it is still drying but I would appreciate any and all suggestions on this. My local ceramic place suggested using slip and I tried that but it was just a mess.

Thanks a Bunch

Gretch

Do you want the handprint impressed into the clay, or coming out from the surface? If they just want an imprint, piece of cake- push the hand directly into the slab. If they want the print in relief, bisque fire the original clay imprint and use it as a mold, rolling a slab into it.

Do you want the handprint impressed into the clay, or coming out from the surface? If they just want an imprint, piece of cake- push the hand directly into the slab. If they want the print in relief, bisque fire the original clay imprint and use it as a mold, rolling a slab into it.

won't the hand shrink considerably?

I don't think it would be that hard ... I could easily do it by making a clay impression (using really soft grogless clay) and before it starts to shrink make a mold of that giving one sprig mold to be an impression sprig mold, then one off of that mold to make a relief sprig mold ... 2 in one.

Or if you just need the one side ... make an algenate or ooo ... silicone cast from the clay impression then cast out about 5 or 6 sprig molds so there are back ups in case one breaks. really easy to do. ... hell doesn't even need to be plaster at that rate ... a good epoxy casting will do wonders.