• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 kgtys

kgtys

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts

Posted 21 April 2013 - 12:25 AM

Hi - I am making my first coil pot - a bowl or maybe a vase - (I am new to this) and wanted to put a decorative crack penetrating the entire thickness (preferably just one if that is possible).
I saw a youtube video of someone using a small hammer after it had been fired(?). The sides looked thin (maybe done on a wheel?) and she made a bigger crack than I would want to do. Should I think of switching to slab to control thickness? Would it be possible to cut the vase in 2 pieces and either intentionally put them back together unevenly before firing, or firing the 2 pieces and then gluing them back together unevenly?
It would be a decorative piece and doesn't need to hold water. As you can see I know nothing about this so any info would be helpful! Thanks-

PS- Here is a pic of the feeling I want for the pot, but maybe just one crack going up the bowl or vase.

#2 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, Montana State University-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,924 posts
  • Locationwhere Texas, Matamoros, Rio Grande and Gulf of Mexico come together.

Posted 21 April 2013 - 07:46 AM

Hi - I am making my first coil pot - a bowl or maybe a vase - (I am new to this) and wanted to put a decorative crack penetrating the entire thickness (preferably just one if that is possible).
I saw a youtube video of someone using a small hammer after it had been fired(?). The sides looked thin (maybe done on a wheel?) and she made a bigger crack than I would want to do. Should I think of switching to slab to control thickness? Would it be possible to cut the vase in 2 pieces and either intentionally put them back together unevenly before firing, or firing the 2 pieces and then gluing them back together unevenly?