help pls: how to void clay figure before firing?

hello hippies,

Im a painter but recently (1 month ago) I took to clay modeling and love it! Im a figurative artists so my small statues were heads or whole body subjects. Till now I used self drying clay (Das and Darwi, that's what I found here in Holland).

I bought M Farraut's video and understand how to void a head. All my full body statues were built on an armature. Long story short...

How does one make a clay statue (20 inches max) which will be fired? I cant see how to extract the armature and was thinking to mold the clay around a wax " armature", that would eventually melt. Im sure there are other methods and I hope anyone here will take the time to send me a link to the answer or describe in a few words.

Sincere thanks!

Mon

The armature cannot be anything solid, unless it can be removed while the clay is still wet. This is because the clay will shrink as it dries and will crack around anything solid. You have several options:

1. Make an armature out of loosely crumpled newspaper and tape. It will compress as the clay dries.

2. Build the figure solid, then hollow it out from the bottom before it dries completely.

3. If you can't hollow it out from the bottom, cut it in half, hollow each section, then join the halves back together.

4. If the figure can't support itself without an armature, build each section/limb separately using the methods above, then join them when the clay is leather hard.

5. If none of this will work, build the pieces separately, then epoxy glue them together after firing.

hello hippies,

Im a painter but recently (1 month ago) I took to clay modeling and love it! Im a figurative artists so my small statues were heads or whole body subjects. Till now I used self drying clay (Das and Darwi, that's what I found here in Holland).

I bought M Farraut's video and understand how to void a head. All my full body statues were built on an armature. Long story short...