Respirator?

I am very new to ceramics and am trying to do things safely. I have a 3M model 6001 respirator it says its for Organic Vapor. Is this the type of mask I need for clay dust? If not what kind do I need? Thanks.

nope. you want p100 filters (they will be pink, whereas i assume the OV carts. you have on yours are greenish) Thisought to do nicely, and it still affords you the OV protection.

We have a "respirator fitment program" on campus that fits specific types of respirators to the jobs being performed. We were recommended the 3M N95 respirators for ceramics use since they are rated to filter particulates. I buy the 8210 version as they fit most faces very well, and get the 8110s version for people with small faces. Nice thing about the N95 respirators is that they come in both the disposable version as well as the cartridge filters for reusable masks. Also, you can buy them from Home Depot/Lowes in the drywall area (but I usually buy them in bulk)

I did searches on all the models mentioned, thank you. I had not even looked at "paper" masks since my teacher said not to use them but after reading the descriptions it sounds like what I need at least until I can find someplace to try on the permanent kind. I wear glasses and finding a mask that fits and still allows me to see is a challenge. The one I have was bought years ago for spray varnishes and such and I don't know if they have changed the design since then so the pink cartridge might not even fit mine. I found the 3M 8210 and 8271 disposable mask at Axners so I will buy a few of each and use them. Once again thank you for your help being new to this and trying to set up a ceramics work area is a bit daunting since what I know will fit in a thimble and the knowledge I need to know is the size of an ocean.

Terry