Gas kiln won't heat up above 650C/1200F

Hello! I'm a beginner potter and still learning things. I was inspired by Simon Leach to make a similar

. I decided to go for this type of kiln because I thought it's simple to build and chip. I made it in a metal drum instead of Simon's welded wire.

The inner volume is about 115L (30gal) . It's covered with the 50mm (2in) ceramic fiber inside. I used a regular burner from a hardware store and 50L propane tank with reducer that people use in households here in Ukraine. Also I inserted there a thermocouple connected to some simple multitester with TEMP. Cones seem to be very hard to find here and expensive ($1 each, 400pieces min lot)

So I loaded some ware and started my first firing. In the first hour temp climbed to 230C/446F (valve 50% open). In next 4 hours (valve 100% open) the temperature climbed to 650C/1200F and stopped. I waited for another 1.5 hour ans then gave up and turned it off. I think I need to mention that I fired outside and it was a little windy but that didn't affect the burner. The air temp was about 12C/53F. I put the gas tank in a container with hot water so it was not freezing. The outer surface of a drum was very hot. I could touch it, but not hold my hand there.

Can someone suggest why this could possibly happen? Simon says he gets 1000C/1832F in 3 hours. So I must be missing something in my setup.

Here's my guesses:

1. The kiln volume is too big for a single burner.

2. The ceramic fiber layer must be thicker.

3. The drum must be placed in some insulation. Maybe put it in a box and cover with sand (leaving the front face open of course)?

4. The gas tank pressure is not enough (thou I don't really think this could be a case).

I attach some pics.

Another question is if it's ok to refire the same ware again to get to 1000C/1832F?

post-21649-136499275243_thumb.jpg

post-21649-136499277467_thumb.jpg

post-21649-136499280029_thumb.jpg

post-21649-136499285182_thumb.jpg