Problem Centering

I've been throwing on and off for a few years, and I just recently bought a new brent wheel. I've certainly been able to center and successfully throw basic forms, but for some reason I've been having trouble consistently getting pieces centered and don't know if its me or the wheel. I seem to encounter the most problems when trying to open. I get it seemingly centered, and then as soon as I begin to open up it goes off center. I've tried opening several different ways and it always gets off center. I don't know if its the wheel, or if the clay isn't totally centered before opening, or if I'm opening incorrectly.

Also, does anyone of of a fool-proof way of making sure the lump of clay is perfectly centered before opening. I go by sight and feel, but perhaps there is more exacting method.

Thanks

Here's a way.....

http://www.dickblick.com/products/brent-quickcenter-system/

......Waits for OffCenter.....

Seriously, I too go by sight and feel, and instruct my students to do the same. Once I have it centered, I put both hands on the sides, of the mound of clay, and see if I can feel any lateral motion, "wobble". If I'm really not sure, I'll lean down, to look at the edge, to see if I can see any visual lateral motion.

It could still be, that you are opening off center. I know a lot of people use their thumbs, immediately after centering, but almost always use a single finger, almost parallel to the top of the clay, to "test" my opening point first. If my finger is pulled around, where I rest my finger, that is not the correct point. Once I find that spot, I make a small opening, with a single finger. I then use the two thumbs to widen the opening. However, if you take your thumbs away too quickly, while opening, this can make the opening seem off center. It can be corrected though.

If the whole mound becomes off center, I'm not sure what the cause is.