Building a cone 10 outdoor Gas/Salt Kiln

Hey guys,

I'm a sophomore at Alfred University, and every spare second (outside of the 3+

hours of clay class I have a day) is spent in our ceramics facilities. This being

said, I've become quite fond of the idea of making my own smallish Salt Kiln in

the woods by my house this upcoming summer. I have access to firebrick (soft

and hard), and have seen a few kilns built, and have access to looking and

investigating the 40+ kilns here on campus, but I still have several questions.

This kiln won't need to be too big, it will only fire work for me and a few friends

from home occasionally. I was thinking around 28 square feet (3x3x4) interior

space. I am going to dig and lay a 3 by 4 foot concrete foundation... then I was

thinking about covering that with cinder blocks (I know to keep the holes running

through them going horizontal to block any moisture from the ground.) I'm

curious, how thick does the floor (of bricks) need to be? I was thinking 1 layer

of soft brick, laying flag, with one layer of hard brick over it, would that be

enough? Also, how thick do the walls/ceiling need to be? Should they all be hard

brick on the interior and soft on the outer layer?

I also have a single burner (like the one in the link I attached)... will that be enough

to heat the kiln (with 28 feet of interior space) to 2300+ degrees?

Burner

Thanks for the help guys, I'm super excited about this. I'm sure I'll have tons of

questions as I actually try to accomplish this project! :blink:src="http://ceramicartsdaily.org/community/public/style_emoticons/default/blink.gif">

-Ryan

You really can't tell the BTU output from a picture of the flame. You need to know the orifice