Where to find used wheels

I am fresh out of college and looking to start putting together a small studio space. And as a recent graduate, I have a really tight budget. I have been searching all over the internet for used wheels in pretty good condition for a fair price, but it seems like I am trying to find a needle in a hay stack. Most of my search results come up as children's toy pottery wheels! I have heard a good place to get used wheels is from public school auctions. But how do I find one? Are there any other good places to find used wheels?

Put out an APB to everyone you know. I got a free kiln this way. At least around where I am there are a lot of people with ceramic supplies left in their garage after they tried in in the 70s. I've also found them on craigslist. Or, check out publicsurplus.com. Sad sign of our times, but many schools are getting rid of their art programs and auctioning things off. Just last week I got a nice little Shimpo for $50 off this site.

Just know that with any used equipment, regardless of where you get it, it is very much "as is". You will almost definitely do a little bit of leg work figuring out what's wrong with it after you get it, and determining how to fix it or live with it.

Put out an APB to everyone you know. I got a free kiln this way. At least around where I am there are a lot of people with ceramic supplies left in their garage after they tried in in the 70s. I've also found them on craigslist. Or, check out publicsurplus.com. Sad sign of our times, but many schools are getting rid of their art programs and auctioning things off. Just last week I got a nice little Shimpo for $50 off this site.

Just know that with any used equipment, regardless of where you get it, it is very much "as is". You will almost definitely do a little bit of leg work figuring out what's wrong with it after you get it, and determining how to fix it or live with it.