Bisque Fire Cracks

I am new to the art of pottery. What are the major reasons for your pots to crack during a bisque firing? I have been working with brown clay. One pot cracked from the rim along the side in an L shape.

Amy,

I am new to using this web forum so I hope this gets to you. My experience was with porcelain cracking. Mostly large platters. They started at the rim and cracked in various patterns in the biqsue. I know porcelain temperments so I had compressed rims and bottoms, dried exceedingly slow and out of drafts, tried elevating the pots off the shelf floor while firing, etc. What worked for me was so simple I felt foolish. I slowed down my bisque firing. It might work for you.

I am new to the art of pottery. What are the major reasons for your pots to crack during a bisque firing? I have been working with brown clay. One pot cracked from the rim along the side in an L shape.

Hi Amy:

Welcome aboard. When you say "brown clay" is this a commercial clay body you purchase from a pottery supplier or is it a clay that you process from nature. I dig my own clays and frequently I have to blend them with other materials to get a good workable pottery clay. One thing that works for me is to add a little fire-clay readily available from masonry suppliers. The other thing that works well for me is to add grog. I have heard of some people using sand but I usually just use broken pottery which I break up finely and then sieve to the gradation I want. If you make it too coarse it can affect your finish and you may not like the end result. Usually with an uinknown clay that I found I make up test forms or coupons and then test them for various parameters. After I'm through with my testing then I try additives and ornamentation. I try to lilmit the variables so that I can decide what the effect actually is. I find keeping a notebook of everything I do in the studio has helped me immesely. Good luck to you.