making your own porcelain ball mill jars

Commercially made ball milling jar seem ridiculously expensive, so I am thinking about making my own.

I understand that there are several potential problems with doing this.

1) Throwing an absolutely round jar... I have figured out how to solve this.

2) I understand that porcelain tends to warp drying and firing-- is this true and what can be done about it? (I have no experience with porcelain.)

3) I understand that the porcelain commonly available to Potters is softer than what is used in ball milling jars. Is this true? Where is harder porcelain available?

Commercially made ball milling jar seem ridiculously expensive, so I am thinking about making my own.

I understand that there are several potential problems with doing this.

1) Throwing an absolutely round jar... I have figured out how to solve this.

2) I understand that porcelain tends to warp drying and firing-- is this true and what can be done about it? (I have no experience with porcelain.)

3) I understand that the porcelain commonly available to Potters is softer than what is used in ball milling jars. Is this true? Where is harder porcelain available?

1. You don't need a round jar. Make a jar and mount it in a round metal sleeve that has been turned true and cylindrical or make your ball mill so that it has a cradle to hold the jar.

2. see #1. It makes #2 a non issue. Usually you want to make ball mill jars thicker than normal wares to make up for the wear of the grinding media inside. This thickness will counter warpage that can be seen in very thin porcelain wares.

3. Try it and see. How soft could it be? (caveat: this depends on how the stuff is fired and the clay body. If it is meant to mature at cone 10~11 and you only get it up to ^9 it won't be as hard as it could be. )

So, do you have a ball mill already and are you looking to replace your current jars or are you making a mill?