#1 Pugaboo

Pugaboo

Lifetime artist 2nd year potter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • LocationHelen, GA

Posted 05 March 2013 - 10:51 PM

I am just starting out and looking to buy my own selection of underglazes. I have decided on the Amaco line but am not sure what I am missing in comparing their Velvet series and their Liquid Under Glaze (LUG) line. Can anyone tell me the differences between the lines?
The world is but a canvas to the imagination - Henry David Thoreau

#2 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, Montana State University-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts
  • Locationwhere Texas, Matamoros, Rio Grande and Gulf of Mexico come together.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 08:02 AM

I went to an image transfer workshop a couple of years ago with AMACO'a Jeff Sandoe. They were introducing the LUGs. I think they are all rated for higher temperatures than the Velvets.
We used them for creating images on plaster slabs and pouring slip on top of the image. The slip dries and the image is inlaid into the surface. It was an interesting class.

Marcia

#3 Chris Campbell

Chris Campbell

clay stained since 1988

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,154 posts
  • LocationRaleigh, NC

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:13 AM

here is the answer from the Amaco site ...

http://www.amaco.com...nderglazes.html

Chris Campbell
Contemporary Fine Colored Porcelain
http://www.ccpottery.com/

https://www.facebook...88317932?ref=hl

TRY ...   FAIL ...  LEARN ...  REPEAT

#4 Marcia Selsor

Marcia Selsor

Professor Emerita, Montana State University-Billings

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,838 posts
  • Locationwhere Texas, Matamoros, Rio Grande and Gulf of Mexico come together.

Posted 06 March 2013 - 10:26 AM

Thanks, Chris. That explains it better than anyone could.
Marcia

#5 Pugaboo

Pugaboo

Lifetime artist 2nd year potter

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 379 posts
  • LocationHelen, GA

Posted 06 March 2013 - 09:55 PM