Please help with saggar question

Hello all!

I really need some help with understanding how to proceed. I'm new to this and don't have a kiln available in my city.

I would like to fire some clay pipes in a homemade kiln using charcoal. I'm planning on getting a 6 gallon steel pail with a vent pipe at the bottom to two stacked paint cans inside, the middle space filled with volcanic rock for a grill and the paint cans filled with charcoal briquettes for firing.

My main problem here is that although I'm "pit firing" or smoke firing, I want the pipes to stay clean and white so I'll require a saggar which I intended to make myself from the same clay as the pipes in a long narrow cylinder ( I'll fire this first of course and don't care if it takes on any colors) or sometimes using a smaller quart sized paint can as the saggar.

1. Will this work at all?

2. Should the saggar be vented since I'm firing greenware? I'll go from bone dry to preheating in my baking oven at 500 degrees before

trying to fire, but I'm still worried about steam or off-gassing in a sealed saggar maybe causing them to explode.

3. Would you anticipate any other potential problems I may not have considered since I'm greenware myself :Dsrc="http://ceramicartsdaily.org/community/public/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif">

I really appreciate anyone's ability to help with these questions.

Thanks very much!

Honestly, I doubt you'll get hot enough in that set up to vitrify your pipes. I'm assuming you mean smoking pipes, as opposed to plumbing pipes, so even if you DO manage to keep them from getting smokey, they'll pick up smoke from whatever you're smoking. Of course that all depends on what clay you're using.

You're going to have to check your can seams to see if they're soldered or crimped, and if they're soldered you really can't use them (most solder melts somewhere between 300F and 400F, and brazing melts somewhere around 900F)