Ware Boards?

New to ceramics and am trying to set up my own ceramics work area in my studio. I'm taking my first pottery class and I noticed that there seems to be several different types of ware boards and working surfaces. Provided of course I have that term correct; I am talking about the boards and surfaces you use to hand build pieces, wedge, knead, and even dry pieces on. I have noticed duct tape edged drywall boards, canvas covered boards of some kind, plywood, formica topped, and what almost looks like dry clay... Maybe it's plaster? I know this is a total newbie question but do the different boards have different uses or are they interchangeable?

For the most part, the ware boards are interchangeable . . . although potters often have strong preferences for certain surfaces and composition for their work. The variety you see is likely the result of a typcial potter characteristic: dumpster diving and salvaging: If it's available and free, there is a use for it so put it on the shelves. I do a fair amount of handbuilding; I prefer wallboard with edges taped -- big sizes (24"x24") as a work surface, to small sizes (6"x6") for drying individual pieces. Wallboard absorbs some moisture. I also use similar sizes of styrene insulation panels; however, the styrene does not absorb moisture. For wedging, I use a plywood surface wedging table. I use no canvass covered surfaces as they tend to trap dust; wood, wallboard, and styrene can all be easily washed off. I do use plaster slabs for drying wet clay from throwing. I tend to prefer smoother surfaces as they are less likely to warp or catch and item while it is drying. (I routinely dry on newsprint or plastic on top of the ware board.) Like I said, different uses for different types of ware boards.

ware boards by my definition would be those that are filled with pots by the wheel and carried to a storage shelf.