From Painter to Potter

Another Newbie here and struggling to blend my painting background with ceramic. I am taking my first pottery class and have sooooo many ideas in my head but am struggling to get them out and into the clay. I LOVE the look of sgraffito and carved ceramics especially if it representational not abstract. I just can't quite get a solid handle on achieving what I see in my head in the items I want to make.

The first thing I made was using a pinch pot, wanted to start with a basic form and method to get a "feel" for the Little Loafers clay I am working with. I designed what I am calling a Starry Night ornamental lantern... Long name I know but it describes it pretty well. To start I made basically an ostrich sized egg shape. I then punched star and small circle cut outs so a battery powered tea light could shine out. I made 2 larger holes at the top to run a wired ribbing through for hanging oh and I flattened the bottom a bit so it will stand by itself as well. I alsommade a larger hole in the back to slip the teal light through. It turned out pretty well but the next step will involve using a wax resist to draw snowflakes scattered across the surface and I have no clue how that works; will I be able to see the wet wax as I paint or will I being doing it blind? Once the resist is on I want to use a dark blue glaze to glaze the whole thing to make it the color of a late evening sky... Is is best to dip or bruch on the glaze? I am worried about filling the inside up with glaze and clogging the holes I cut... What method should I use to apply the glaze?