computer controlled gas kiln

As a self taught potter who has only fired in an electric kiln I have been fortunate to have acquired a small gas kiln (10 cu. ft.) and am very excited about delving into the world of reduction firing. I have researched what I need as far as the basics of firing reduction but am a bit perplexed as this kiln has a computer controller. Not only am I unable to find any information on firing a computer controlled gas kiln but my lack of experience makes it hard to even begin to understand how this will function. Obviously the computer will only operate the burners on this kiln (very basic controller) and reduction will still need my help but how would I establish a firing schedule.

The controller probably doesn't operate the burners, either. It functions as a high temp safety shutoff device that opens and closes a gas valve. You'll have to manually control the gas going to the burners. Is there a brand name or model number on the controller? Most gas kilns have controllers that are not made specifically for kilns- they're temperature process controllers used by industry- so you can usually find manuals online. What brand is the kiln?

The only gas controller I know anything about is a dd1 on a Geil kiln as a friend has one.You input a temperature say 1,800 and the kiln will at 1,800 turn itself very low and somewhat hold or not surpass this Temp.You control the gas in terms of how much ON (the amount you want to ramp up) you want. You do all the damper controls.

His new kilns now have some reduction (damper controls) I think and you can read about them on his web site.

This is all controlled with valves and a temperature probe.

As you start learning to use this kiln you will still need cones to see what temps/heat work.