Paper Armature

Hello All,

I am very new to clay sculpting, Just finished my first sculpture, just a few little things left to clean up, then I am hoping to put it in the kiln for firing, but because I am so new to this, (I am a bit stuck as where to start), my main concern being that of the Armature, I used rolled news paper, the sculptor/model is made from terracotta clay that I purchased from a UK company by the name of Pot-clay, my sculpture is of a ''Bulldog'', in my own style, about 12x roughly 9 inches or so in size, Can I fire it with the paper left inside? or do I need to remove it, I would rather leave the paper inside if possible, I don't really want to chop it apart.

Would it be Better for me to post a picture up

Any advice would be greatly Appreciated!

Many thanks

lee

The paper will burn out during your firing; you can leave it in . . . however, it will smoke and smell during firing and leave ash in the kiln. The paper will absorb moisture from the clay body, so, while your clay may be bone dry, the paper inside may not be fully dry. Make sure you give it a lot of time to dry thoroughly before firing . . . error on the side of caution. Trapped moisture could cause the steam to expand too fast and break the sculpture. And, give it a good pre-heat.

Many thanks for the Reply bciskepottery

Do I just leave it to thoroughly dry out Naturally, at the moment it's in the shed, it's quite coldish and damp hear at the moment, would it be a good idea to bring it into the house, will it start to crack up as it's drying out ?

post-22205-136041380258_thumb.jpgpost-22205-136041413836_thumb.jpgpost-22205-136041421695_thumb.jpg

post-22205-136041380258_thumb.jpg

post-22205-136041413836_thumb.jpg

post-22205-136041421695_thumb.jpg