Midnight Black II from Seattle Pottery Supply— firing

Just got some of this stuff. I'm wondering what will happen to it if I fire it at cone 6. It's rated specifically as an 04-5 clay.

Will it totally completely melt or just slouch a little or what? I only bought 25lbs and I have a 10cu/ft kiln that I won't fill up with just this.

I would just be making mugs and teacups, pretty structurally sound cylinders without any big peripheral things that can't suppor tthemselves.

THanks guys

Eric

PS I'm really new to this stuff. : D

I assume this clay contains manganese. Get the MSDS from the manufacturer to find out for sure. Assuming it does, read up on manganese toxicity and safety before using the clay. It is beautiful.

Most often the biggest problem in over firing clays containing manganese is bloating, so you may find ^5 is as far as you can take it, especially if your kiln is not perfectly calibrated. If you want to try pushing it to ^6, put a plate under it, something made out of a safe-to-^6 clay.

Just got some of this stuff. I'm wondering what will happen to it if I fire it at cone 6. It's rated specifically as an 04-5 clay.

Will it totally completely melt or just slouch a little or what? I only bought 25lbs and I have a 10cu/ft kiln that I won't fill up with just this.

I would just be making mugs and teacups, pretty structurally sound cylinders without any big peripheral things that can't suppor tthemselves.

THanks guys

Eric

PS I'm really new to this stuff. : D