First bisque / glaze firing questions

Hello, I'm a newbie to both the ceramics world and to the forums and would truly appreciate the help of the wonderful folks here...

I'm interested in making tile. I've just purchased an electric Olympic doll/test kiln and will be attempting my first bisque firing within the next couple of days.

My only question about the bisque firing is how long should I prop the lid (I don't have a vent): until it reaches 800 degrees, when it is no longer steaming up a mirror, or some other way of knowing?

My questions in regards to the glaze firing:

1) Do I need to stilt the tile when using low fire commercial (06) glazes? The tiles will be small and unglazed on sides/bottom. I've read to use silica sand on the shelf beneath the tile. Is this necessary with a small 4" tile? I remember seeing a post here that using silica sand could be damaging to the elements/other wares.

2) As it is a very small kiln, should I enter a 'User Program' in the V6-F controller in order to allow for slower cooling of the glaze, or will the preset 'Slow' or 'Fast' settings be adequate? I realize that experimenting will probably be my only answer here, but I'd like the opinion of more experienced users on these controllers and what type of schedules they use in a test kiln to avoid glaze defects.

I apologize if these topics have been addressed, I have searched but was unable to come to a definitive answer on these. Many thanks to the fine experts here, I am so grateful for your responses on these forums. Don't know what I'd do without you!