How to glaze fire in a manual kiln?

CPT

Hi!!!

I will be doing some test pieces soon. I'm pretty new to this and unsure of how to go about it. I already have a few pieces that I made using Amaco 480 mid/high fire clay.

Now I want to try using some of the Potter's Choice glazes (layering, etc). I am really excited about using these glazes on my test pieces!

How would I use my manual kiln to do this? I have 3 switches (Low, Medium, High)and cones ready. How long for each L-M-H setting to get the right effects/oxidation for these particular glazes?

Attached are some images.

Thanks so much in advance!

post-10505-135808969086_thumb.jpg

post-10505-135808970611_thumb.jpg

post-10505-135808969086_thumb.jpg

post-10505-135808970611_thumb.jpg

I have used most of them quite successfully. Read carefully several times Amaco's instructions for application and follow them. I brush with a thick fan brush to really lay down a good application. Here is an example of the Indigo Float, 3 heavy coats. Did not run. Sorry can't help with the kiln as mine in computer controlled. BTW this glaze will accept Cone 5 - 6.

post-6443-135812821827_thumb.jpg

post-6443-135812821827_thumb.jpg

Before I began testing these glazes I read every brochure Amaco offered as to brushing techniques, firing temperatures, how many coats, and the potential results. I looked at all of the brochures under sunlight, northern light, incandescent light, photofloods and online at the Amaco website.

After looking I decided on what layering combinations thrilled me the most and what glazes I wanted to test. I wrote them down in a notebook leaving room for notes on the glaze application, firing data and the results of the glazes.

I made flat test tiles, textured propped tiles and small test vessels with textured areas and bisque fired them to a mature cone 04-1971°F.