Reduction firing at cone 6

I have been firing to cone 6 in an electric kiln for 30+ years. Through a lot of trial and error (a LOT of error!) I have discovered a palette of glazes that give my pots the rich, visually textured look that I want. The studio where I teach has just installed a 40-cu.ft. Bailey gas kiln, which we will begin testing in the very near future. I have never fired reduction at this temperature, and am wondering if anyone has some experience in this area. I'm wondering if clay bodies used in oxidation will be suitable for reduction. Anyone have a favorite clay body or glaze you wouldn't mind sharing with me? Any other tips that might help us to find success in our first few test firings? I realize this is a topic with a wide scope. Anything would help.

Posted 16 January 2012 - 06:26 AM

Here are the results from the ^6 firing workshop in Corpus Cristi. The finished pieces are the Clay studio members work and a few of mine. We compared test tiles. I brought my glaze tests using gerstley borate and Jim Tabor made his using 3134 grit. Not a noticeable difference. The Bailey kiln fired like a dream. Nice kiln. It was the first time I used Advancers and they were wonderful to load. Many thanks to Jim and Don Miller. Don has kept precise kiln logs. We deviated from them but I got to understand their control system through his notes.Many of these glazes are from John Britt's article and from some I shared previously with Don Miller of their Clay Studio.

https://www.facebook...=3&l=ad95eb4c8e